- The Luxembourg Gardens (Jardin du Luxembourg) is the second largest park in Paris (25-ha, 60-acre) originally built (1615-1645) to the designs of the French architect Salomon de Brosse.
- The garden belongs to Luxembourg Palace built for Marie de' Medici, mother of king Louis XIII and there is a space dedicated to France’s enslaved people.
- The garden is famous for its calm atmosphere and, thus, a popular destination for relaxation for Parisians
- Statues of French queens, saints and copies of the Antique are scattered in the park
- The palace is now the seat of the French Senate and the home of the president of the Senate
- The Luxembourg Palace (referred to in French as the Palais du Luxembourg) is a previous illustrious castle in Paris, France. Since 1958 it has been the seat of the French Senate of the Fifth Republic.
- The royal residence was initially inherent 1612 by Marie de’ Medici on lands she claimed. The plan depended on structures from her local Florence. The structure is frequently contrasted with the far bigger Palazzo Pitti where Queen Marie was conceived in 1575.
- In 1642, Marie left Luxembourg to her second and most loved child, Gaston, Duke of Orléans. He considered it the Palais d’Orléans yet it was as yet known by its unique name. Upon Gaston’s demise, the royal residence passed to his widow, Marguerite of Lorraine. At that point, it passed to his senior girl by his first marriage, La Grande Mademoiselle.
- The Luxembourg Palace remained the property of the French Crown until the French Revolution.